Posted by: wtfwjd? | May 15, 2008

Diatribe: disconnect my leverage, don’t leverage my disconnect

This has bothered me for a long time.

“Leverage” is a noun, not a verb.

“Disconnect” is a verb, not a noun.

If this isn’t obvious by looking at the words, please go get a better primary education, or read more books.

If the constant misuse of these two words drives you insane, maybe we could be friends.

On a much milder note, the pedantic part of me (and is there any other part?) bristles at the use of the neologism “to incent” — however, this back-formation from the noun “incentive” is not irksome in the way the two other examples are, as at least “incent” looks and sounds like a verb. I prefer to say “offer an incentive” or even “incentivize” (still kind of ugly but I prefer to form new words by adding suffixes rather than removing them). In any event, I expect “incent” will become an officially approved English word before too much longer. I hope the same is never true of “leverage” as a verb or “disconnect” as a noun.

I think maybe I was born in the wrong country.

Leave a Reply

Categories

